Forensic Hackathon 2020

Forensic Hackathon 2020

Forensic Hackathon 2020

About GFSU

Gujarat Forensic Sciences University (GFSU) was established by the Government of Gujarat under the aegis of Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) in 2009 with a prime objective to provide highly qualified experts in the areas of forensic and allied sciences to the country and the world. GFSU is a unique and only university across the world, dedicated to Forensic & Investigative Sciences. GFSU also plays a vital role in strengthening the Criminal Justice Delivery System by imparting training to the officers of the respective system. The university is accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) MHRD, Government of India and awarded “A” grade.GFSU conducts more than 41 PG programs and doctoral program in the field of Forensic Sciences, Cyber Security, Digital Forensics and Behavioral sciences. The university creates skilled manpower in the field of Criminal Investigation, those are expertised in advanced scientific techniques.

About Hackathon

During the past few years, both the state and central governments have been emphasizing the need to encourage Innovation and Incubation. As of now, India is ranked among the top three start-up friendly ecosystems in the world. Programs like Atal Innovation Mission, PM Research Fellowships, Start-up India Abhiyaan are the foundations to establish India as a global epicenter of innovation. To support, 'Make in India' policy of Government of India, Gujarat Forensic Sciences University in collaboration with Directorate of Forensic Science Services (DFSS) and under the auspicious of Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India is organizing Forensic Hackathon on 14-15 March 2020, with an objective of resolving the issues related to forensic investigations and applying forensic science and there by strengthing the justice delivery system.


There will be 15 Prizes in each category and in total there will be 30 prizes with total awards of Rs. 60 lakhs.



500 participants from all over the India.

  • Maximum three (3) members in a team.
  • Each team must incorporate currently enrolled students in an educational institution in India (student ID numbers and a copy of ID must be provided for validation).
  • One (1) local mentor per team is mandatory (in addition to the 3 members).
  • Maximum three (3) members in a team.
  • Each team should comprise of currently employed persons in Government or private organizations of India.
  • The team may seek help from a local mentor, if required.

Notice Board

Dear Participants, check your E-Mail for the results of Stage-I and the selected candidates are required to submit the details as mentioned in the Mail for Stage-II.

Selected participants for Stage-II are required to submit the detail of projects in this format.

The Registrations for the Forensic Hackathon 2020 have ended.

Mentor List for Forensic Hackathon 2020

Forensic Hackathon 2020 Brochure

Organizing Committee


    Dr. J.M. Vyas

    Director General, GFSU, Gandhnagar


    Punya Salila Srivastava

    Joint Secretary (Women Safety & Internal Security), MHA, New Delhi, Govt. of India


    Dr. S.K. Jain

    Chief Forensic Scientist & Director Directorate of Forensic Science Services, New Delhi


    Shri Anil Subramaniam

    Director (WS), MHA, GOI


    Dr. S.O. Junare

    Director IFS and IMT, GFSU, Gandhinagar


    Dr. Satish Kumar

  • Shri C.D. Jadeja

    Registrar, GFSU

  • The Directors & Dy. Directors, All Central Forensic Science Laboratory (CFSLs)
  • Shri H.P. Sanghavi

    Addl. Director, DFS, Gandhinagar

  • Dr. Brig. K. K. Tripathi

    Director, IBS, GFSU

  • Dr. P. Maity

    Director, IRD, GFSU

  • Dr. Naveen Chaudhary

    Dr. Rakhi Agarwal

    Dr. Parag Rughani

    Dr. Deepak Rawtani

    Dr. G. Rajesh Babu

    Dr. Astha Pandey

  • Dr. Digvijaysinh Rathod

    Dr. Haresh Barot

    Dr. Pooja Ahuja

    Dr. Bhargav C. Patel

    Dr. Surbhi Mathur

    Dr. Abraham Johnson